Posted by: grandma | December 9, 2007

Recycle Marigolds

Marigolds

Ron Smith, Horticulturist, NDSU Extension Service 

Q: I have a healthy marigold in my front yard. However, the frost soon will kill the plant. I was thinking about getting seeds from this plant for next year, but I’m not sure how to go about doing this. My dad says the seeds are in the flowers. If that’s true, do I have to wait until a certain time to gather the seeds? Do I have to dry the seeds? I’m a little confused as to what I need to do, so your help would be appreciated. (e-mail reference)

A: Tie a paper bag over the flower heads and cut them off. As the heads dry, the seeds will fall into the bag (hang the cut-off heads upside down). Next spring, plant the seeds in the soil or in a well-lit room. Hybrids will not reproduce the same type of flower, so don’t expect the resulting plants to be like the one you harvested.

FYI: Tilapia love the roots of the merigolds, so when the frost gets it, feed the roots to your fish.

Leave a Reply

Categories

