Posted by: dwjmcneil | November 17, 2007

Duckweed

Fish food

All fish need to eat. We want them to eat so they can grow. The more fish you have, the more mouths you have to feed. My goal and I’m sure your goal is to have big fish and keep the cost down. You can nickel and dime yourself as you put handfuls over handfuls of store bought food in your pond. If you feed to much you dirty your tank and the PH goes up. Feed them to little, and they goes hungry (they won’t grow as fast).

Tilapia are like cows, they munch, crunch, and “graze” all day long. I like making a natural approach to feeding them (crating a diet that would be similar to what it would be if they were in the wild). Duckweed is one example of vegetation that is fast growing and the fish love to eat. In fact they consume so much of it that tilapia have been used for biological control. 

I grow my Duckweed in a separate container so I can control how much they eat. Duckweed also almost doubles over night (24-48hrs.). Every morning I give them a half of what is in the tank. I also have started growing it on top of my clarifiers.

This is just one thing in there vats diet.

More to come…

Any Questions feel free to ask, and I will do my best.

P.S. Make sure that the duck weed does not get into any water resource. it grows so fast it will take over

Responses

  1. Very Good, do you know how to grow it? Full Sun, Shade…etc

  2. partial sun, slow runing water. Dont try to grow the plant in the same tank your fish are in, they will eat them up so you will have nothing to harvest.


Leave a Reply

Categories

